Rd 13 GM Aronian, Levon (2805) – GM Radjabov, Teimour (2773) {TATA STEEL A}

GM Levon Arnonian WINS TATA STEELE in 12 moves.. Mixed reactions have been posted on other sites by this dubious “Win”, not so much as in who won the tournament but how it was accomplished. Last years winner {Nakamura} ended this year’s tournament with a 11 move draw as well.  

About Bart7

Chess enthusiast and wanna be blogger ..Supporter of God,Family,USA and Gaming. Long live the Q.G.and Freedom.[GTh:77]
Bookmark the permalink.

4 Comments

  1. What do you think?
    would you take a draw to secure No.1 and Win? Is this borederline cheating.. do the rules need to be adjusted ?

  2. [Event “74th Tata Steel Chess Tournament”]
    [Site “Wijk aan Zee/The Netherlands”]
    [Date “2012.01.29”]
    [Round “13”]
    [White “Kamsky, Gata”]
    [Black “Topalov, Veselin”]
    [Result “1-0”]
    [ECO “A46”]
    [WhiteElo “2732”]
    [BlackElo “2770”]
    [PlyCount “141”]
    [EventDate “2012.??.??”]

    1. d4 Nf6 2. Nf3 e6 3. g3 d5 4. Bg2 b5 5. c3 a5 6. O-O Nbd7 7. Bf4 Be7 8. Qc2 c5 9. Nbd2 Bb7 10. Ne5 O-O 11. a4 bxa4 12. Qxa4 Nxe5 13. dxe5 Nd7 14. h4 Qc7 15. e4 Nb6 16. Qc2 Rfd8 17. Rfc1 h6 18. Be3 Qd7 19. exd5 Nxd5 20. Nc4 a4 21. Re1 Qb5 22. Na3 Qa6 23. Rad1 Rab8 24. c4 Nxe3 25. Rxd8+ Rxd8 26. Rxe3 Bxg2 27. Kxg2 Qb7+ 28. Kg1 Qb4 29. Rc3 Qb8 30. Re3 Qb4 31. Rc3 Rd7 32. Nb5 Qa5 33. Qe2 Qd8 34. Ra3 Rd2 35. Qf3 Rd1+ 36. Kh2 Qd2 37. Rxa4 Qe1 38. Nc3 Qg1+ 39. Kh3 Re1 40. Ra7 Qf1+ 41. Qg2 Qxg2+ 42. Kxg2 Bf8 43. f4 g5 44. h5 gxf4 45. gxf4 Kg7 46. Rd7 Re3 47. Rb7 Re1 48. b3 Re3 49. Nd1 Re2+ 50. Nf2 Rc2 51. Kf3 Rc3+ 52. Ke2 Rg3 53. Ne4 Rh3 54. Nf6 Rh1 55. Rd7 Rh2+ 56. Kd3 Rh3+ 57. Kc2 Rh4 58. Ne8+ Kg8 59. f5 Rh2+ 60. Rd2 Rxd2+ 61. Kxd2 exf5 62. Nf6+ Kg7 63. Ke3 Be7 64. Nd7 Bg5+ 65. Kf3 Bd2 66. Nxc5 f6 67. e6 Kf8 68. Nd3 Ke7 69. Nf4 Kd6 70. c5+ Kc6 71. Nd5 1-0

  3. [Event “74th Tata Steel Chess Tournament”]
    [Site “Wijk aan Zee/The Netherlands”]
    [Date “2012.01.29”]
    [Round “13”]
    [White “Caruana, Fabiano”]
    [Black “Gelfand, Boris”]
    [Result “1-0”]
    [ECO “C42”]
    [WhiteElo “2736”]
    [BlackElo “2739”]
    [PlyCount “95”]
    [EventDate “2012.??.??”]

    1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 Nf6 3. Nxe5 d6 4. Nf3 Nxe4 5. Nc3 Nxc3 6. dxc3 Be7 7. Be3 O-O 8. Qd2 Nd7 9. O-O-O Ne5 10. h4 c6 11. Bg5 f6 12. Bf4 Qa5 13. a3 Bg4 14. Be2 d5 15. Nxe5 fxe5 16. Bxe5 Rxf2 17. Rde1 Bxe2 18. Rxe2 Rf7 19. g3 Raf8 20. Rhe1 Qd8 21. Qd4 b5 22. Kb1 Qd7 23. h5 Bg5 24. a4 Re8 25. axb5 cxb5 26. Qd3 Rfe7 27. Bd4 Rxe2 28. Rxe2 Rxe2 29. Qxe2 Bf6 30. Qf2 Bxd4 31. Qxd4 h6 32. b3 Qf7 33. Qe5 a6 34. Kb2 Kh7 35. Qd6 Qxh5 36. Qxa6 Qe8 37. Qb7 Qe5 38. Qxb5 h5 39. Qd3+ Kh6 40. b4 g5 41. b5 h4 42. gxh4 gxh4 43. b6 Qb8 44. Qa6 Qd6 45. Qb5 d4 46. b7 dxc3+ 47. Ka2 Qe6+ 48. Ka1 1-0

  4. I’d love to be in the position that Aronian was in to be able to make such a decision. Would I have made the same decision? I would hope not, but I honestly can’t blame him for putting the tournament to rest considering the hard/hard fight he had in getting to the winning position where a draw was enough for sole possession of first place. Now Radjabov – that’s another matter. This guy had a possible share of first prize, black pieces not withstanding. I’ve heard that because he was the only undefeated player of the tournament, perhaps he wanted to keep that ‘status’ intact. If true (or not) I don’t buy it. That is a ‘distinction’ that will go out with next weeks trash. A draw so that he can tie with two other people for second place? I would have fought ‘tooth nail and tongs’; possibly going down, but I would have given it a shot – and LEARNED a lot in the process. It may well be that ‘rules’ could be changed to deter (but not totally eliminate) the possibility of such a display, but the more I think of it I think we (as a species) are going to have to evolve a bit before such actions are deemed pointless. I mean – think of it – 184,000 years from now when he has his great/great/great/… grandson on his knee, he will say, “Well boy – back in 2012 I had a 12 move draw in the last round against the tournament leader when I could have had a bite of first prize.” I think the conclusion to this conversation would/should be – – – “Please learn from my mistakes.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *